Site Specific Work

As a photographer, I haven’t thought much about public art pieces and installations. It wasn’t until I moved to Chicago that I really began to notice the bean, sculptures and various flower pot heads that the City of Chicago has put into place to make the city a more beautiful place.

I visited a rose garden for the past month or so for a research project and grew attached to the place which made me think about how I could leave my mark there. With the roses about to be gone for winter and inspiration from a Salvador Dali painting I came up with this floating rose.

After class discussion, I decided that I would want the rose to be a flat steel image, painted and then hung with wire above the garden. The piece itself would stay through the winter and be a marker of what once was there, and what is to come back in the spring.

Sketch5

Leave a Reply

